

Dear Colleagues,

As board chair of the National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS), I am proud to present the Governance Committee slate of trustees and officers for three-year terms commencing at the 2021 Annual Meeting of Members.

This year's Annual Meeting of Members (formerly known as the President's Breakfast) will occur virtually on Tuesday, February 23, 2021, from 3:00-4:00 PM Eastern Time, and all NAIS heads of member schools are invited to attend. In addition to the vote on trustees and officers, there will be reports on the state of NAIS.

We encourage you to join us on February 23. Please <u>register</u> no later than Monday, February 15, 2021 (please note that this invitation is not transferable). While only heads of NAIS member schools are invited to the meeting and to vote on the slate of trustees and officers, a recording of the event will be made available to all individuals in member schools on February 24, 2021.

If you are unable to attend the meeting, you may cast your vote using a secure <u>online proxy form</u> or you can <u>download a proxy form</u> and submit it to NAIS's Erica Zematis by <u>email</u>. Please submit your proxy form no later than Monday, February 15, 2021.

If you attend the virtual Annual Meeting of Members, there is no need to complete a proxy form. Voting at the virtual Annual Meeting of Members will be accomplished anonymously using the Zoom meeting platform.

On behalf of the NAIS board of trustees, we all look forward to seeing you virtually on February 23, 2021.

Bernie Noe NAIS Board Chair and Head of School, Lakeside School (WA)

Governance Committee Report Submitted to the Full Membership of the Association In conforming to the provisions of the NAIS bylaws, the Governance Committee presents herewith the nominations for new board members, second term board members, and officers of the board, as approved by the NAIS board, to be elected by the membership for a three-year term commencing at the Annual Meeting of Members, Tuesday, February 23, 2021.

The nominations for a first term on the trustees' slate are as follows:

- John Austin, head, Deerfield Academy (MA)
- Noni Thomas Lopez, head, The Gordon School (RI)
- Lisa Kay Solomon, designer in residence, Stanford University Institute for Design (CA)
- James Calleroz White, head, The Galloway School (GA)

The nominations for a second term on the trustees' slate are as follows:

- Veronica Codrington-Cazeau, head, University Prep (WA)
- James Honan, senior lecturer on education, Harvard Graduate School of Education (MA)
- Michael Nachbar, executive director, Global Online Academy
- Tekakwitha Pernambuco-Wise, head-elect, The Wyndcroft School (PA)

The nominations for officers on the trustees' slate are as follows:

- Randall Dunn (chair), head, Latin School of Chicago (IL)
- Joan Buchanan Hill (vice chair), head, The Lamplighter School (TX)
- Eric Temple (secretary), head, Lick-Wilmerding High School (CA)

NAIS Governance Committee

- Michael Nachbar, chair of the governance committee and executive director, Global Online Academy
- Robin Appleby, head of school, The American School in London (UK)
- Joan Buchanan Hill, head of school, The Lamplighter School (TX)
- Tekakwitha Pernambuco-Wise, head-elect, The Wyndcroft School (PA)
- Ross Peters, vice president for school strategy, EXPLO Elevate (MA)